Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

NY Dive Options
haroon777 - 9/09/2014 3:30 AM
Category: General
Replies: 7

Hi, I am an airline pilot and therefore a frequent visitor to NY. Just need some help regarding good dive options here around NY. The web is full of information but I never succeed to get my plan executed due to my tight schedule (with mostly weekdays as my free days).

This month I plan to arrive Manhattan on 23rd Sept in the evening and my departure is on the 27th. That leaves me with 3 days, with 25th Sept as the most preferable option.

I’ll be grateful if some can suggest some nice dive sites (good visibility and not in lakes) and how to go about it.

Regards
LatitudeAdjustment - 9/09/2014 5:07 AM
"(good visibility and not in lakes)" Well there are no lakes near NYC and good viz is rare in the northeast :(

Are you flying into NY or EWR? There are dive shops in the city and in Jersey who can book you on a diveboat. If your just looking for a taste there is a beach dive in the city divebuddy.com/divesite/2344/beach-8th-street-far-rockaway-queens-ny/ that this time of year you could do in a 3 mil. You’ll see the locals plus some tropicals swept up here by the Gulf Stream.

If you’re in the city the end of March you should come over to Beneath the Sea in NJ for the largest consumer dive travel/equipment show in the US. You can get there by cab or bus and LP even runs a shuttle on Sunday from their dive shop.
Subscribed
haroon777 - 9/10/2014 8:20 PM
Thanks Lattitude, sorry for the late reply (was waiting for my account approval by admin so couldn’t post)

I fly to JFK. Can you suggest a dive shop that carries out diving on weekdays also?

I dont mind travelling for 4-5 hours by road to reach a good diving spot.