Join DiveBuddy.com

Meet new scuba divers, maintain a virtual dive log, participate in our forum, share underwater photos, research dive sites and more. Members login here.

Air consumption question when picking a buddy.
Greg - 3/27/2007 3:33 PM
Category: Training
Replies: 7

Do you think it`s important to ask about air consumption when picking a buddy? Or is everyone close enough so it`s not a big issue? If everyone thinks it`s important, maybe I can add something to everyone`s profile that lets you specify whether your an air hog or not. That would be one extra thing to use when trying to find the perfect buddy.
shannonjon22 - 3/27/2007 5:12 PM
I think it`s a fair question. As a newbie, I do consume much more air than a more experienced diver. I would hate to ruin someones dive itinerary because I ran low on air way before my buddy did.
Dorkfish - 3/27/2007 11:32 PM
Absolutely a relevant issue. Sometimes air consumption is not truly the issue. I found out last season that a diver I helped certify had a proper SAC rate, but because of equipment differences, he would suck down his air twice as fast as I would.

The end result was that his el-cheapo hard plastic (we buy what we can afford right?) fins could not keep up nor were they as efficient as my Twin Jets, so I needed to slow down so the dives would last longer and be more enjoyable.

Otherwise, his air consumption was very close to my own.
DalelynnSims - 3/28/2007 10:37 AM
Just a reminder as to how to figure the all important SAC, see: http://scubatoys.com/education/sac.asp
Jeannette - 3/28/2007 2:31 PM